Gamora Cosplay: An Overview


yeahboi1272433_653703394776728_4151422038489926937_ogamorameguardians

I’ve written in more detail about each aspect of my Gamora costume for MCM Expo London 2015 and “THE MELODY IS PLEASING”, and links to these will be provided in this article (follow them for reference images, materials used and purchase info,  how-to details, and my own thoughts), but without further ado, let’s take a quick look at the index page for how I created the hair, skin, make up and costume for my Guardians of the Galaxy inspired cosplay.

Masterpost Video Hands Hair Top Bottom Boots Make Up Mission Statement

Hair

IMG_0912

I started with a base of naturally long, dark, wavy hair, which had already been semi-accidentally dip-dyed blonde. I used Manic Panic’s Fuschia Shock for my pink ends (for UK-based cosplayers I recommend browsing this site and its delightful forum for advice). I also threaded two large silver beads onto a small plait in my hair – these were already in my home, but wholesale bead suppliers will help you here – these are a good match for the beads I used to emulate Saldana’s custom-designed alien skull beads.

Links to further hair details.

Hands

Screen Shot 2015-06-19 at 00.43.12

The gloves were first formed with black and blue webbing in a criss-cross pattern, and then improved using lighter, more flexible webbing from cheap dogs’ leads. Additional details included a split-pin as a stud, a black sock for the thumb detail, leather ribbon and home 3D-printed buckles. The rings were silver bands of varying thickness – to one of them I glued additional beads, but these fell off before Comic Con. As ever, patterns, links, and references detailed in the click-through link.

Links to some handy stuff

Top

Screen Shot 2015-06-07 at 16.00.01The top consisted of a black mesh bodysuit, a waistcoat of sorts, and a collar. The bodysuit was a nice cheap purchase from Forever 21 (well, it would’ve been cheap if I hadn’t also bought a couple of other things to excuse the purchase) with black velvet ribbon stitched in another criss-cross over the top. I settled on a black bandeau from boohoo to preserve my modesty. The waistcoat is made of home-waxed denim, perforated pleather, some ribbed pleather shoulders, and a fun foam collar. Details included tin foil hexagons, magnet fastening, and shatter-glass holographic material cut out to match the on-screen pattern exactly.

Top tutorial

Bottoms

Screen Shot 2015-06-07 at 16.07.50

The belt was a cheap black pleather one – the kind you can get anywhere – trimmed to size, and the leggings were dark blue disco pants from boohoo. Attached were three 3D-printed buckles (patterns in the click-through details link, ofc.) printed black painted silver; a strap which seemed to appear as if from the Room of Requirement in my house, possibly originating from a black cardigan; black cord adorned with silver beads; a holster made of fun foam and pleather; a fun foam buckled strap; and more holographic material.

Leggy Peggy details

Boots

Screen Shot 2015-06-07 at 16.16.41

Gamora wears high black boots with a block heel. To create this effect I used a comfy pair of chunky black ankle boots I already owned from boohoo and attached spray-painted fun foam, along with extra 3D-printed heel detail made to fit the shoe, tin foil, black buttons and black buckles.

Boot patterns, better views, and more

Make Up

Screen Shot 2015-06-07 at 16.42.04

To recreate Gamora’s green skin, I used Mehron airbrush body paint in a mix of green and yellow. We happened to find a cheap airbrush on offer around the time, but this isn’t strictly necessary, especially with Mehron, which can be sponged straight on (as I did for my body at comic con, and for my face and body for the videos). I then sealed it all over with a sealant spray. I opted for a 2D replication of Gamora’s scars, so I’m afraid there’ll be no SFX tutorial for this – I just used a dark green eyeliner to draw on her scars, then went over the top with silver liquid liner. The green lipgloss is from the fabulous etsy shop FierceMagenta, and my eye make up was neutrals and plums from a palette I already own, topped with copious black gel liner and my regular mascara.

Make up details, tips, etc.

As ever, please feel free to contact me with comments, questions, and suggestions! Tumblr, twitter, youtube. Happy cosplaying!

One thought on “Gamora Cosplay: An Overview

  1. Pingback: Cosplay for Beginners – with Toddlers! | We'll Eat You Up – We Love You So

Leave a Reply

