Gamora Cosplay How-To: Make Up (and body paint)

Screen Shot 2015-06-24 at 13.47.43Screen Shot 2015-06-07 at 16.42.04

Screen Shot 2015-06-24 at 13.53.03

Masterpost Video Hands Hair Top Bottom Boots Make Up Mission Statement

Products used: Mehron body paint in green and yellow, Ben Nye‘s Final Seal, a Smashbox eyeshadow palette, Bobbi Brown gel eyeliner (black), Laura Geller retractable eyeliner (green), BarryM liquid liner (silver), Mally mascara (black), Fierce Magenta liquid lipstick in Esmeralda

Let’s start with the green.

I used Mehron airbrush paint, but only my face (in the lower photo, for the convention) actually got airbrushed, as the air compressor I used was very low-end and it ended up quicker, and nearly as effective, to do it by hand using plain washing up sponges cut into segments. The Mehron paint is absolutely top-notch and very versatile – it can be applied undiluted without an air compressor. For the colour I eyeballed a mix of their yellow and green. It probably ended up a touch too yellow, but I liked the result.

It's not a pure, dark green; it's light, with a decent amount of yellow in it.
It’s not a pure, dark green; it’s light, with a decent amount of yellow in it.

Perhaps I could have prevented a sallower look on my skin by mixing straight blue with yellow, but that’s an experiment for next time.

Stop at this stage and spray yourself all over with a sealant! I used Final Seal, and although there was some slippage in the green, I actually got compliments on how well my body paint stayed on, and surprise that it was my first convention.

As you can see above, Gamora’s eyeshadow is also a lot more subtle and neutral in the movie than in the promotional picture. It’s still purple, but not plum, and not excessively winged, and this movie look was the one I went for. It is, of course, perfectly acceptable to go darker and more intense with more of the same eyeshadows.

I used a staple eye look:

Screen Shot 2015-06-24 at 14.16.42

This was a neutral, pale purple applied all over the lid, and a darker purple blended into the crease of the eye socket and also dragged along the lower outer corner, finished off with thick black liner and mascara. It’s amazing how dramatic this looked once I took off the green, but it suited Gamora and didn’t look too much.

In the movie, Gamora’s waterlines are lined as well, but this is down to personal preference, as are false eyelashes. Her eyebrows are also mostly obscured, with silver detailing. I kept my own eyebrows, again as a personal choice, though I kept them fine like Gamora’s.

For the scars:

Just do it
Just do it

If staying 2D, as I did, I strongly recommend starting with a dark green eyeliner. Not only will this create a more 3D drop-shadow effect, but the silver scar tissue will stand out infinitely more. I strongly recommend the Barry M eyeliner, but I can’t seem to find it in silver anymore. What I did at the time was browse the high street – try a few fine-pointed liquid silver liners (especially any with shimmer, high-shine, or holographic in the description) until you find your favourite.

This eyeliner was actually a birthday gift from the awesome Katie. Thank you bro

11061676_10205790974147158_8445537563745844784_n

Finally, the lipstick:

Screen Shot 2015-06-24 at 14.29.45

I can’t recommend Fierce Magenta highly enough. I initially purchased the only green lipstick I could find on the market, from a company that rhymes with bragrazer. All I can say to this product is don’t bother. It offers absolutely no coverage – it will only make your lips look a bit mouldy. It’s cheap, so this is to be expected, but it’s still utterly disappointing and barely worth it even for a halloween costume.

After a lot more research, I found this great Etsy shop which offers a beautiful range of lip colours. The texture is lovely, they smell nice, they stay put well, and most importantly, they’re true to colour. Don’t get me wrong; they’re still lip glosses, so if you’re anything like me, you’ll accidentally lick bits off, and they will fade like any other, but they will also actually make your lips look like they are green. Or blue, or purple, or black, or orange. It’s a stunning range. I ordered to the UK from America with no more problems than usual.

Comments and questions welcome as ever; here’s a shot of the look in action.

gamorame

Happy cosplaying!

Leave a Reply

